Skip Main Navigation Skip To Navigation Content

Economic Census


Counties are the primary political and administrative divisions of States.

Also recognized by the Census Bureau as county equivalents for economic census purposes are:

  • Boroughs, Census Areas, and certain Cities in Alaska
  • Districts and Islands in American Samoa
  • Election Districts in Guam
  • Independent Cities in Maryland, Missouri, Nevada and Virginia
  • Islands in the U.S. Virgin Islands
  • Municipalities in the Commonwealth of the Northern Mariana Islands
  • Municipios in Puerto Rico
  • Parishes in Louisiana
  • The District of Columbia

Note: For the 2007 Economic Census, Kalawao County, HI, was combined with Maui County for statistical purposes. For the 2012 Economic Census, this county will be recognized as its own area.

Changes for the 2012 Economic Census

The 2012 Economic Census will now include 6 new or changed county equivalents in Alaska that were identified and adopted after the 2007 Economic Census. They are:

  • Hoonah-Angoon Census Area and Skagway Municipality (previously Skagway-Hoonah-Angoon Census Area)
  • Ketchikan Gateway Borough (comprised of part of this same county equivalent in 2007)
  • Petersburg Census Area and Wrangel City and Borough (previously Wrangel-Petersburg Census Area
  • Prince of Wales-Hyder Census Area (comprised of part of the 2007 Ketchikan Gateway Borough plus all of Prince of Wales-Outer Ketchikan Census Area)

For more information on these county changes in Alaska (including reference maps) see the Alaska GeoNotes page

"Statewide" Counties

Up thru the 2011 County Business Patterns reports, businesses that were in a state but could not be assigned a specific county code were assigned COUNTY '000' ("Statewide") and were treated as county equivalents. For the 2012 Economic Census, Statewide is now treated as a Geographic Component of the State and is assigned GEO_COMP code = "S0".


Counties are identified by a 3-digit ANSI County code (COUNTY), which are sequenced alphabetically within a State, with independent cities following the listing of Counties within each State.

Source: U.S. Census Bureau | Economic Planning and Coordination Division | 1-877-790-1876 | Last Revised: March 11, 2015