Skip Main Navigation Skip To Navigation Content

Economic Census

Regions and Divisions

Census Regions and Divisions are groupings of States that subdivide the United States. view map [pdf] »

Each of the four census Regions is divided into two or more census Divisions:

  • Northeast Region
    • New England Division: Connecticut, Maine, Massachusetts, New Hampshire, Rhode Island and Vermont
    • Middle Atlantic Division: New Jersey, New York and Pennsylvania
  • Midwest Region
    • East North Central Division: Illinois, Indiana, Michigan, Ohio and Wisconsin
    • West North Central Division: Iowa, Kansas, Minnesota, Missouri, Nebraska, North Dakota and South Dakota
  • South Region
    • South Atlantic Division: Delaware, District of Columbia, Florida, Georgia, Maryland, North Carolina, South Carolina, Virginia and West Virginia
    • East South Central Division: Alabama, Kentucky, Mississippi and Tennessee
    • West South Central Division: Arkansas, Louisiana, Oklahoma and Texas
  • West Region
    • Mountain Division: Arizona, Colorado, Idaho, Montana, Nevada, New Mexico, Utah and Wyoming
    • Pacific Division: Alaska, California, Hawaii, Oregon and Washington

Note: Data from the economic census are summarized by Region for the Construction sector only. Data from the Commodity Flow Survey are published for both Regions and Divisions.


Census Regions and Divisions are identified by one-digit Census Region and Census Division codes (CENREG and CENDIV), which are sequenced alphabetically.

[PDF] or PDF denotes a file in Adobe’s Portable Document Format. To view the file, you will need the Adobe® Reader® Off Site available free from Adobe. This symbol Off Site indicates a link to a non-government web site. Our linking to these sites does not constitute an endorsement of any products, services or the information found on them. Once you link to another site you are subject to the policies of the new site.
Source: U.S. Census Bureau | Economic Planning and Coordination Division | 1-877-790-1876 | Last Revised: March 11, 2015