Skip Main Navigation Skip To Navigation Content

Product Classification

North American Product Classification System

In February 1999, the statistical agencies of Canada, Mexico and the United States launched a joint multi-phase initiative to develop a comprehensive demand-oriented product classification, known as the North American Product Classification System (NAPCS). Work to date has focused on the products produced by service industries in NAICS sectors 48-49 through 81.

Manufactured and Mineral Products

In addition to industries, products in the manufacturing and mining industries are classified consistently with the NAICS structure. The first 6 digits of the 10-digit product code are normally the same as the NAICS code for the industry with which the product is most often associated.

See a full list of 2011 manufacturing and mining codes.

Broad product or service lines also are provided for retail and wholesale trade and other service industries.

Import and Export Codes

The 2007 Economic Census does not use import and export codes, but they may be useful when combining different sources of data.

All of the import and export codes used by the United States are based on the Harmonized Tariff System (HTS). The HTS assigns 6-digit codes for general categories. Countries that use the HTS are allowed to define commodities at a more detailed level than 6 digits, but all definitions must be within that 6-digit framework.

The United States defines products using 10-digit HTS codes. Export codes, which the United States calls "Schedule B", are administered by the U.S. Census Bureau. Import codes are administered by the U.S. International Trade Commission (USITC). Web sites for U.S. import and export HTS codes:

Source: U.S. Census Bureau | Economic Planning and Coordination Division | 1-877-790-1876 | Last Revised: August 15, 2014