Skip Main Navigation Skip To Navigation Content


You are here: Census.govGeographyPartnerships › 2010 Census TSAP Program
Skip top of page navigation
Skip top of page navigation

Overview of the 2010 Census Tribal Statistical Areas Program (TSAP)

The Tribal Statistical Areas Program (TSAP), a decennial program of the U. S. Census Bureau, was part of an ongoing effort to enhance the reporting of meaningful statistical data for American Indian and Alaska Native areas.  Through the program, tribes had the opportunity to identify and delineate the geographic statistical areas and block boundaries for which the Census Bureau tabulates data for the 2010 Census and the ongoing American Community Survey (ACS) after 2010.  Statistical data from the 2010 Census and the ACS post-2010 can provide tribes with a meaningful tool to help make informed decisions, and plan for services such as education, health, and housing.

The program specifically provides for the review and delineation of:

  • Alaska Native village statistical areas (ANVSAs)
  • Census designated places (CDPs)
  • Oklahoma tribal statistical areas (OTSAs)
  • OTSA Tribal subdivisions
  • State designated tribal statistical areas (SDTSAs)
  • Tribal designated statistical areas (TDSAs)
  • Tribal census tracts
  • Tribal block groups

In addition during the 2010 Census, TSAP also worked with state recognized American Indian tribes to review and delineate State American Indian reservations (SAIRs).

The Federal Register Notices from the 2010 TSAP program can be found on our Federal Register Notices page.


ANVSA Verification Maps

Source: U.S. Census Bureau | Geography | (301) 763-1128 |  Last Revised: July 27, 2015