Skip Main Navigation Skip To Navigation Content


You are here: Census.govGeographyReferenceGuide to State and Local Geography › Indiana
Skip top of page navigation
Skip top of page navigation

Guide to 2010 Census State and Local Geography - Indiana



2010 Census Population: 6,483,802 (15th)
Land Area: 35,826.1 square miles (38th)
Density: 181.0 persons per square mile (16th)
Capital: Indianapolis
Became a State: December 11, 1816 (19th)
Bordering States: Illinois, Kentucky, Michigan, Ohio
Abbreviation: IN
ANSI Code: 18


The area of Indiana was part of the original territory of the United States, being part of lands ceded by four states to the United States and designated in 1787 as the "Territory northwest of the River Ohio." Indiana Territory was organized on May 7, 1800, from the western part of the Northwest Territory; it included all of present-day Illinois, nearly all of Indiana and Wisconsin, the western part of the Upper Peninsula of Michigan, and northeastern Minnesota. Indiana Territory was greatly reduced by the organization of Michigan Territory in 1805 and Illinois Territory in 1809. Indiana Territory was increased in 1816 by the addition of a strip of land that set the northern boundary between Indiana and Michigan territories and was reduced by relinquishing territory in the Upper Peninsula to Michigan Territory. Indiana was admitted to the Union on June 29, 1816, as the 19th state, with generally the same boundary as the present state.

Although the territory had not yet been legally established, census data for Indiana are available beginning with the 1800 census. The 1810 population includes a small population in territory now within Michigan (most of this area was not enumerated, being primarily unceded American Indian lands). For an explanation of the revision to the 1800 population of Indiana, see Richard L. Forstall, Population of States and Counties of the United States: 1790-1990, Washington, DC: U.S. Government Printing Office, 1996, page 52.

Data for the legally established state of Indiana are available beginning with the 1820 census.



Indiana has 16 metropolitan statistical areas, 25 micropolitan statistical areas, 1 metropolitan division, and 8 combined statistical areas.


There are 92 counties in Indiana. Marion County does not function as a separate governmental unit; it consolidated governmental functions with Indianapolis city on January 1, 1970 but they are not coextensive.  The governing body in each of the other counties is a board of commissioners.


There are 1,011 county subdivisions in Indiana known as minor civil divisions (MCDs). There are 1,008 townships which are functioning, but not necessarily active, governmental units.  There is one unorganized territory, Camp Atterbury in Bartholomew County, and two county subdivisions not defined, each comprised of the portions of Lake Michigan within Indiana.  Each active and functioning MCD is governed by a board of trustees.


Indiana has 681 places; 568 incorporated places and 113 census designated places (CDPs).  The incorporated places consist of 117 cities, 450 towns, and one balance of place representing the portion of the Indianapolis consolidated city that is outside of the incorporated municipalities.  Indianapolis city consolidated governmental functions with Marion County as become a consolidated city comprised of the portion of Marion County (including 12 municipalities) outside the incorporated places of Beech Grove, Lawrence, Southport, and Speedway.

Cities in Indiana are separated into classes based on population:

Class  Population
First class cities   250,000 or greater
Second class cities 35,000 to 249,999
Third class cities Less than 34,999

Cities must have a minimum population of 2,001.  Towns are established as those incorporated places having fewer than 2,000 people. Provision is made for towns with a population of more than 2,000 to become cities by petition of voters and a referendum.  However, some places having a population more than 2,000 still are classified as towns because they have not held the election necessary to become a city (for example, the town of Speedway).

Incorporated places are dependent within county subdivision with the exception of Indianapolis city and Terre Haute city.


Indiana has 1,511 census tracts, 4,814 block groups, and 267,071 blocks.


For the 111th Congress (January 2009-January 2011), Indiana had nine congressional districts.  For the 113th Congress (January 2013-January 2015), Indiana continues to have nine congressional districts as a result of reapportionment based on the 2010 Census.


Indiana has 294 unified school districts.


There are 50 state senate districts and 100 state house districts in Indiana.


Indiana has 113 urban areas; 16 urbanized areas and 97 urban clusters.


There are 776 ZIP Code tabulation areas (ZCTAs) in Indiana.


Year North Latitude West Longitude
20106 40° 08′ 57″ 86° 15′ 34″
20006 40° 09′ 50″ 86° 15′ 41″
19905 40° 10′ 06″ 86° 16′ 15″
19804 40° 10′ 33″ 86° 17′ 01″
19703 40° 11′ 48″ 86° 17′ 30″
19603 40° 11′ 50″ 86° 18′ 55″
19503 40° 07′ 17″ 86° 18′ 47″
19402 40° 05′ 06″ 86° 18′ 52″
19302 40° 04′ 53″ 86° 18′ 42″
19201 40° 00′ 14″ 86° 17′ 16″
19101 39° 56′ 49″ 86° 15′ 47″
19001 39° 54′ 36″ 86° 14′ 03″
18901 39° 52′ 53″ 86° 14′ 16″
18801 39° 51′ 33″ 86° 13′ 26″

1  Source:  U.S. Department of Commerce, Bureau of the Census, Fourteenth Census of the United States, 1923
2  Source:  U.S. Census Bureau, recomputation for historical county level data which relied upon aggregate county level population data with an estimated county centroid resulting in a possible error of up to one mile.
3  Source:  U.S. Department of Commerce, Bureau of the Census, Centers of Population for States and Counties, 1974
4  Source:  U.S. Census Bureau, Geography Division, recomputation from archived national block group/enumeration area data resulting in a possible error of up to 1,000 feet.
5  Source:  U.S. Census Bureau, Geography Division, recomputation from archived national block group data resulting in a possible error of up to 1,000 feet.
6  Source:  U.S. Census Bureau, computation from national block-level data


  Population Land Area
(square miles)
Population Density
(Persons per square mile)
  Name Population Name Area Name Density
County Marion County 903,393 Allen County 657.31 Marion County 2,279.6
 - Inc Place Indianapolis city (balance) 820,445 Indianapolis city (balance) 361.43 West Lafayette city 3,886.4
 - CDP Granger CDP 30,465 Granger CDP 25.57 Purdue University CDP 9,389.0


See the Gazetteer Files for a list of geographic entities. See the Metropolitan and Micropolitan Statistical Areas page for a list of metropolitan and micropolitan statistical areas and related statistical areas.


[PDF] or PDF denotes a file in Adobe’s Portable Document Format. To view the file, you will need the Adobe® Reader® Off Site available free from Adobe. This symbol Off Site indicates a link to a non-government web site. Our linking to these sites does not constitute an endorsement of any products, services or the information found on them. Once you link to another site you are subject to the policies of the new site.
Source: U.S. Census Bureau | Geography | (301) 763-1128 |  Last Revised: February 09, 2015