U.S. flag

An official website of the United States government

Skip Header

About this Region

The Chicago Regional Office is responsible for all data collection, data dissemination, and geographic operations under the current service area boundaries.

States within the Chicago Region's service area include Arkansas, Illinois, Indiana, Iowa, Michigan, Minnesota, Missouri, and Wisconsin.

Regional offices play a critical role in getting the U.S. Census Bureau's message out to the community. In support of the censuses and surveys, the regional offices' staff serve as contacts for local media, meet with local organizations to improve participation in censuses and surveys, and host workshops to teach the public about the use and value of the Census Bureau's data.

The Detroit and Kansas City Regional Offices closed in late 2012 and transferred responsibility for specific states to the Chicago Region.

We remain committed to exceeding the high standards required by the Census Bureau to deliver excellent customer service.


Page Last Revised - November 18, 2021
Is this page helpful?
Thumbs Up Image Yes Thumbs Down Image No
255 characters maximum 255 characters maximum reached
Thank you for your feedback.
Comments or suggestions?


Back to Header