U.S. flag

An official website of the United States government

Skip Header

For Immediate Release: Tuesday, April 26, 2022

Census Bureau Announces Seven New Members to Census Scientific Advisory Committee

Press Release Number CB22-TPS.41

APRIL 26, 2022 — The U.S. Census Bureau has appointed seven new members to its Census Scientific Advisory Committee (CSAC). The panel provides recommendations on the design, operation and implementation of Census Bureau programs. New members will serve a 3-year term.

The new CSAC members are:

  • Claire Bowen, Ph.D., principal research associate and lead data scientist, Urban Institute
  • Mainak Mazumdar, chief data and research officer, Nielsen Company
  • Ronald C. Prevost, Ph.D., research professor, Georgetown University
  • Rogelio Saenz, Ph.D., professor, Department of Demography, University of Texas at San Antonio
  • Seth Spielman, Ph.D., director of metrics and data science at Microsoft and visiting professor of geography, University of Liverpool
  • Chad Syverson, Ph.D., George C. Tiao distinguished service professor of economics, University of Chicago Booth School of Business
  • Deepinder S. Uppal, Ph.D., chief technology officer and public sector director, Vertical Innovations TIBCO Software, Inc.

The Census Bureau is set to hold its next meeting in September 2022. At the virtual meeting, panel members and representatives of various organizations from across the nation will discuss ways to improve censuses, surveys, operations and programs.

No news release associated with this announcement. Tip sheet only.



Public Information Office
301-763-3030 or
877-861-2010 (U.S. and Canada only)


Page Last Revised - April 26, 2022
Is this page helpful?
Thumbs Up Image Yes Thumbs Down Image No
255 characters maximum 255 characters maximum reached
Thank you for your feedback.
Comments or suggestions?


Back to Header