Skip Header
U.S. flag

An official website of the United States government


Basic Information

2010 Census Population: 2,763,885 (34th)
Land Area: 82,169.62 (12th)
Density: 33.6 persons per square mile (41st)
Capital: Salt Lake City
Became a State: January 4, 1896 (45th)
Bordering States: Arizona, Colorado, Idaho, Nevada, New Mexico, Wyoming
Abbreviation: UT
ANSI Code: 49


The United States acquired the area of Utah from Mexico in 1848. Utah Territory was organized on September 9, 1850, from the acquired area plus a small portion of territory sold to the United States by Texas. Utah Territory included all of present-day Utah, most of Nevada, and part of western Colorado and southwestern Wyoming. The territory was reduced in 1861 with the organization of Colorado and Nevada territories, and additional area was lost to Nevada in 1862 and 1866. The territory was further reduced in 1863 with the organization of Idaho Territory and in 1868 with the organization of Wyoming Territory, to arrive at generally the same boundary as the present state. Utah was admitted to the Union on January 4, 1896, as the 45th state.

Census data are available for Utah beginning with the 1850 census. The 1850 census population is for the entire area of the territory, including areas not in present-day Utah. The 1860 census population does not include the area now in Nevada, but does include portions of Utah Territory in Colorado and Wyoming, although no population was reported for the Colorado portion. The 1860 population for legally existing Utah Territory was 47,130. For an explanation of the revision to the 1870 population of Utah, see Richard L. Forstall, Population of States and Counties of the United States: 1790-1990, Washington, DC: U.S. Government Printing Office, 1996, page 162.

Data for the legally established state of Utah are available beginning with the 1900 census.

About the Geographic Areas


Utah has seven federally recognized American Indian reservations, two with off-reservation trust land.


Utah has five metropolitan statistical areas, five micropolitan statistical areas, and one combined statistical area.


There are 29 counties in Utah.  All counties are functioning governmental units, each governed by a board of county commissioners or a county council.


Utah has 93 county subdivisions. They are all census county divisions (CCDs), which are delineated for statistical purposes, have no legal function, and are not governmental units.  CCDs were first established in Utah for the 1960 census. Prior to 1960, the minor civil divisions used in the census included election precincts and election districts.


Utah has 326 places; 245 incorporated places and 81 census designated places (CDPs). The incorporated places consist of 144 cities and 101 towns.  The minimum population for incorporation is 100.  When towns reach a population of 800 they become a third-class city. 


Utah has 588 census tracts, 1,690 block groups, and 115,406 census blocks.


For the 111th Congress (January 2009-January 2011), Utah had three congressional districts.  For the 113th Congress (January 2013-January 2015), Utah has four congressional districts as a result of reapportionment based on the 2010 Census.


Utah has 41 unified school districts.


There are 29 state senate districts and 75 state house districts in Utah.


Utah has 36 urban areas; 5 urbanized areas and 31 urban clusters.


There are 294 ZIP Code tabulation areas (ZCTAs) in Utah.

Centers of Population

Year North Latitude West Longitude
20106 40° 24′ 05″ 111° 55′ 37″
20006 40° 26′ 20″ 111° 54′ 01″
19905 40° 29′ 29″ 111° 51′ 51″
19804 40° 30′ 59″ 111° 49′ 33″
19703 40° 33′ 51″ 111° 49′ 43″
19603 40° 32′ 10″ 111° 50′ 07″
19503 40° 27′ 57″ 111° 47′ 16″
19402 40° 22′ 01″ 111° 48′ 53″
19302 40° 22′ 26″ 111° 49′ 12″
19201 40° 22′ 19″ 111° 47′ 04″
19101 40° 23′ 06″ 111° 47′ 46″
19001 40° 16′ 02″ 111° 45′ 29″
18901 40° 18′ 53″ 111° 46′ 47″
18801 40° 13′ 56″ 111° 54′ 30″

1  Source:  U.S. Department of Commerce, Bureau of the Census, Fourteenth Census of the United States, 1923
2  Source:  U.S. Census Bureau, recomputation for historical county level data which relied upon aggregate county level population data with an estimated county centroid resulting in a possible error of up to one mile.
3  Source:  U.S. Department of Commerce, Bureau of the Census, Centers of Population for States and Counties, 1974
4  Source:  U.S. Census Bureau, Geography Division, recomputation from archived national block group/enumeration area data resulting in a possible error of up to 1,000 feet.
5  Source:  U.S. Census Bureau, Geography Division, recomputation from archived national block group data resulting in a possible error of up to 1,000 feet.
6  Source:  U.S. Census Bureau, computation from national block-level data

Most Populous, Largest, and Dense Areas

Population Land Area
(square miles)
Population Density
(Persons per square mile)

Name Population Name Area Name Density
County Salt Lake County 1,029,655 San Juan County 7,819.99 Salt Lake County 1,387.1

 - Inc Place Salt Lake City city 186,440 Salt Lake City city 111.11 Taylorsville city 5,406.8
 - CDP Millcreek CDP 62,139 La Sal CDP 47.56 Kearns CDP 7,717.0

List of Entities

See the Gazetteer Files for a list of geographic entities. See the Metropolitan and Micropolitan Statistical Areas page for a list of metropolitan and micropolitan statistical areas and related statistical areas.


Back to Header