Skip Header
U.S. flag

An official website of the United States government

1950 Census of Housing: Volume 2. Nonfarm Housing Characteristics

Volume II, Nonfarm Housing Characteristics, comprises five parts. Data for the United States, for each of the nine geographic divisions, and for each of the 152 standard metropolitan areas of 100,000 inhabitants or more, are presented as separate chapters. The standard metropolitan areas are arranged alphabetically.

Data for selected cities are contained in the chapter for the standard metropolitan area in which the city is located. The description of the division or standard metropolitan area is given on page 2 in the chapter for that division or area.

The divisions, standard metropolitan areas, and cities, by part number, are listed below; the cities are indented under the names of the standard metropolitan areas.

Part 1: United States and Geographic Divisions (9)


Part 2: Akron, OH – Des Moines, IA

Part 3: Detroit, MI – Memphis, TN

Part 4: Miami, FL – Salt Lake City, UT

Part 5: San Antonio, TX – Youngstown, OH

Part 1: United States and Divisions

Download United States and Divisions

Part 2: Akron – Des Moines

Download Akron – Des Moines

Part 3: Detroit – Memphis

Download Detroit – Memphis

Part 4: Miami – Salt Lake City

Download Miami – Salt Lake City

Part 5: San Antonio – Youngstown

Download San Antonio – Youngstown

A Note on Language

Census statistics date back to 1790 and reflect the growth and change of the United States. Past census reports contain some terms that today’s readers may consider obsolete and inappropriate. As part of our goal to be open and transparent with the public, we are improving access to all Census Bureau original publications and statistics, which serve as a guide to the nation's history.


Back to Header