Skip Header

2016 Geography Changes

Component ID: #ti1465474277

Conversion of County Subdivisions from Townships to Precincts in Buffalo County, Nebraska

Buffalo County, Nebraska (31019) abolished all townships in the county. The 26 townships (and two independent place county subdivisions) have been replaced by 29 precincts. Only three townships maintained comparability with a single precinct.

Component ID: #ti1465474275

Changes in the Inventory of Entities

Each year some new entities come into existence and other entities are deleted. This is the result of new incorporations or statistical delineations, the redrawing or splitting of administrative areas, disincorporations, mergers and consolidations, and other types of changes.

Component ID: #ti931132850

County Subdivisions That No Longer Exist for 2016

The following county subdivisions no longer exist:

  • All 26 townships and two independent place county subdivisions in Buffalo County, Nebraska (31019) (see separate note above)
  • Lumber City borough (independent place), Clearfield County, Pennsylvania (4203345448)
  • District 8, Greene County, Tennessee (4705991390)
  • District 4, Lake County, Tennessee (4709590666)
  • Districts 11 through 20 in Macon County, Tennessee (47111)

Component ID: #ti1831464550

Places That No Longer Exist for 2016

The following places no longer exist:

  • Statenville CDP, Georgia (1373200)
  • Arnold CDP, Minnesota (2702260)
  • East Garden City CDP, New York (3622065)
  • Lumber City borough, Pennsylvania (4245448)
  • Doyle CDP, Texas (4821283)
  • Klahanie CDP, Washington (5336101)
  • Minden CDP, West Virginia (5454508)

Component ID: #ti1465474276

Boundary Changes

Some areas of the nation will now have reduced comparability, primarily due to boundary changes. Changes are based on a variety of reasons including annexation, disincorporation, and geocoding updates. Generally this occurs:

  • In states that have nonfunctioning county subdivisions that are redistricted after the census, as are found in Arkansas, Louisiana, Mississippi, Nebraska (precincts), Tennessee, Virginia, and West Virginia. In 2016, Tennessee submitted county subdivision changes for every county in the state.
  • In states that have less restrictive annexation or consolidation laws such as in most states outside the Northeast Region

For those entities that experienced changes, making comparisons between an entity in its 2015 form to its 2016 form should be done cautiously and with good understanding that the entity may be substantially different in its 2016 form. We encourage use of TIGER/Line Shapefile products to perform detailed comparisons of the inventory and boundaries of geographic areas, by year. Information about these files and links to the mapping files themselves can be found at the TIGER Products Guide page.

Component ID: #ti1058559868

Legislative Redistricting

Every two years, the Census Bureau obtains information of the redistricting of congressional districts and the upper and lower chambers of state legislative districts. For 2016, the following states reported changes:

  • Congressional Districts: Florida, Minnesota, North Carolina, and Virginia
  • State Legislative Districts (Upper Chamber): Florida and Minnesota
  • State Legislative Districts (Lower Chamber): Florida, Georgia, Maryland, and Minnesota

Component ID: #ti1995746091

School Districts

Every two years, the Census Bureau obtains information on the current boundaries of school districts. For 2016, 34 states reported at least one school district change: Alabama, Alaska, Arizona, Arkansas, California, Connecticut, Georgia, Idaho, Illinois, Indiana, Iowa, Kansas, Maine, Massachusetts, Michigan, Minnesota, Mississippi, Missouri, Montana, Nebraska, New Hampshire, New Jersey, New York, Ohio, Oklahoma, Pennsylvania, South Carolina, South Dakota, Tennessee, Texas, Utah, Vermont, Washington, and Wisconsin.

The most significant changes occurred in Vermont where many school districts consolidated and extensively redefined.

Component ID: #ti1619840691

Metropolitan and Micropolitan Statistical Areas

The Office of Management and Budget (OMB) announced updates to Metropolitan and Micropolitan Statistical Areas in OMB Bulletin No. 15-01 on July 15, 2015. The announcement changed the designation of one micropolitan statistical area to a metropolitan statistical area and created 16 new micropolitan statistical areas, five new combined statistical areas, one new New England City and Town Metropolitan and Micropolitan Statistical Area and Combined New England City and Town Metropolitan and Micropolitan Statistical Area. The announcement also modified the names, codes, and definitions of some existing areas and designated new principal cities.

  Is this page helpful?
Thumbs Up Image Yes    Thumbs Down Image No
Comments or suggestions?
No, thanks
255 characters remaining
Thank you for your feedback.
Comments or suggestions?
Back to Header